Proverbs 31 – Day 1

I was reading through another Blog and they kept talking about a “proverbs 31 wife” but I didnt know what that meant and I couldnt remember if Id ever even read Proverbs 31. So I decided I would check it out. What I found was exactly what I’ve been looking for! Over the last couple years I’ve spent hrs on end trying to figure out exactly what my roles as a stay at home wife and mom were? I looked up “The 50’s Wife” and really liked most of it, and Ive looked up modern version, but it never occurred to me to look in the Bible. Silly me I should have realized that where ever I need guidance in my life the answers can be found within the Bible and through prayer with the Lord.

I saw that it was very short but there is so much meaning behind each verse that although I skimmed it today and wrote what stuck out to me. I will be going more in depth into these verses over the next few days. Heres what I got for day one:

Starting at Proverbs 31: 10 – Epilogue: The Wife of Noble Character

It begins by saying, “A wife of noble character, who can find? She is worth more than rubies.” In other words they are few and far between. Ok so this tells me already Im gonna have to work hard to even attempt to be the wife they are about to describe. 

  1. She brings him good not harm.
  2. She selects wool and flax and works eager with her hands.
  3. Like merchant ships, she brings food from afar.
  4. She gets up while its still dark and provides food for her family.
  5. She considers a field and buys it with her own earnings and plants a vineyard.
  6. She works vigorously, keeping her arms strong for her tasks.
  7. She sees that her trading is profitable and her lamp doesnt not go out at night.
  8. She holds the distaff and spindle with her fingers.
  9. She opens her arms to the poor and extends her hands to the needy.
  10. When it snows she has no fear for her household. For they are clothed in scarlet.
  11. She makes coverings for her bed and she is clothed in fine linens.
  12. She makes linens and garments and sells them.
  13. She is clothed with strength and dignity, she can laugh at the day to come.
  14. She speaks with wisdom and faithful instruction is on her tounge.
  15. She watches over her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.
  16. Her children and her husband arise and call her blessed

It comes to a close with V30-31, but I would like to highlight specifically V30 where it states, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

Needless to say the woman described here is not lazy or weak, but an important part in their household. One who provides in a specific and appropriate way. She brings honor to her husband and the Lord. I am very excited over the next few days to explore these verses more intimately and to see what the Lord has in store for me as I do so.

Leave a Reply

