Lesson 2 : Take the Next Right Step

Today I read lesson 2 In the book God Never Blinks. Lesson two is titled simply “Take The Next Right Step”. The story is about a woman’s travels from her youth into adulthood. She explained that she was terrified of everything in life. Every big step she needed to take scared and overwhelmed her so she always took the safe road and wound up dropping out of collage and bouncing from one unfitting job to the next to get by. Then one day Her friend in recovery said, “Just take the next right step.”

If you want to go to school get a course catalog as her mom suggested (which ultimately led to her figuring out she loved writing. She took one class, then another and eventually she earned her degree then her masters) The writer suggests “If you want to lose 40 lbs, you order a salad instead of fries,. If you want to be a better friend, you take the phone call instead of screening it. If you want to write a novel sit down and write the first paragraph.” don’t be afraid just take the next right step.

She used one metaphor from E. L. Doctorow, that stuck out beyond any other in today’s lesson. She said “writing a book is like driving a car at night. ‘You never see farther than your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.'” she goes on to say that “this philosophy applies to life, too.” and she’s right!

I myself have all too often not dome something because the thought of how to reach my end result seemed overwhelming. For instance I spent more than a month dreading my craft room. I knew I needed to organize it and I wanted to but when I opened the door and saw the insanity that hid back there I’d just shut the door. In the end what got it done was simp,y taking that first right step: walking in and grabbing that first item that didn’t belong in there and putting it away. It happens all through life from small things like that to major life goals. For some time now I’ve tossed around the idea of opening a store. I know what I want to do, but thinking about all the steps it will take to get me there, and the fact that I don’t know exactly where we will even be located this time next year, is indeed overwhelming. So I just need to take that next right step, such as printing off the layout of a business plan.

I need to trust that like driving a car at night, I don’t need to be able to see the whole trip right now. I just need my headlights to shine that 350 feet in front of my car. God is like the headlights of my car. He shows us a small fraction of what’s ahead and shines the light on the different roads that we can take and only when we’ve completed the trip will we be able to look back and say that although we couldn’t see the whole way, we could always see just enough to make the decisions to get us where we are.

Leave a Reply

